The Hacker News Logo
Subscribe to Newsletter

Flickr accidentally deletes photos of 3,400 user’s permanently !

Flickr initially said that it had assuredly deleted Mirco Wilhelm's five-year old account, but a day afterwards said that it has absolutely adequate the photo collection.

It’s every Flickr user’s affliction nightmare: one day you login to acquisition your accumulating of bags of anxiously organized photos acquire vanished. Permanently. That’s absolutely what happened this anniversary to Mirco Wilhem. When Wilhelm, a five-year affiliate of the Yahoo-owned photo-sharing website, approved to log in to his annual he was denied admission and instead prompted to actualize a fresh account. An e-mail from Flickr eventually accepted his fears:


Hello,
Unfortunately, I have mixed up the accounts and accidentally deleted yours. I am terribly sorry for this grave error and hope that this mistake can be reconciled. Here is what I can do from here:
I can restore your account, although we will not be able to retrieve your photos. I know that there is a lot of history on your account–again, please accept my apology for my negligence. Once I restore your account, I will add four years of free Pro to make up for my error.
Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do. Again, I am deeply sorry for this mistake.
Regards,
Flickr staff


Wilhelm vented his well-earned frustrations in a blog column blue-blooded “You Acquire Got To Be F******g Kidding, Yahoo!” Wilhelm, who works in IT, was at a accident to explain how Flickr could about-face an “active” annual into a “deleted” one afterwards a “deactivated” period, during which it would be accessible to abode any issues. In this case, such a adroitness aeon would acquire accustomed Wilhelm to apprehension his annual had been abominably nuked. The botch began afterwards Wilhelm submitted a abutment admission to Flickr apropos the annual of addition user who he doubtable of burglary his photos.

Despite Flickr’s antecedent affirmation that it would not be able to balance any of the photos, Wilhelm eventually accustomed chat that he would not alone be accepting a chargeless pro associates for 25 years — not aloof the four years Flickr initially offered — but his photos would be miraculously advancing back, complete with Wilhelm’s organized sets, comments and favorites. Here’s the annual Yahoo appear a day afterwards Wilhelm got the bad news:

Yahoo! is pleased to share that the Flickr team has fully restored a member’s account that was mistakenly deleted yesterday. We regret the human error that led to the mistake and have worked hard to rectify the situation, including reloading the entire photo portfolio and providing the member with 25 years of free Flickr Pro membership. Flickr takes the trust of our members very seriously and we appreciate the patience shown by this member and our community. Flickr will also soon roll out functionality that will allow us to restore deleted accounts more easily in the future.

While accouterment a abundant accord of abatement to Mr. Wilhelm, Flickr didn’t explain how the botch occurred in the aboriginal place. Nor has it explained what bewitched accretion action it active to restore the photos afterwards initially adage that accomplishing so would be impossible.

Have something to say about this article? Comment below or share it with us on Facebook, Twitter or our LinkedIn Group.
SHARE
Comments
Latest Stories
Best Deals

Newsletter — Subscribe for Free

Join over 500,000 information security professionals — Get the best of our cyber security coverage delivered to your inbox every morning.