Apple has revealed that it plans to start checking public iCloud links for harmful content starting with iOS 27.3, iPadOS 27.3, macOS 27.3, and visionOS 27.3.
The change specifically applies to scenarios where users share iCloud content, such as photos in iCloud Photos or files in iCloud Drive, by sharing a link and making it accessible to "Anyone with the link."
When users choose this option, it makes the content accessible to anyone who has the link, including Apple, the iPhone maker said.
"Starting in version 27.3 or later of iOS, iPadOS, macOS, and visionOS, items shared using Anyone with the Link will be checked by Apple for harmful content," it said in a support document published Tuesday.
Apple also explicitly noted that sharing an item that can be accessed by Anyone with the Link disables end-to-end encryption (E2EE), even if the owner or the recipients have turned on Advanced Data Protection, an optional setting that secures iCloud Backup, Photos, and Notes using E2EE.
That said, it's unclear what prompted this change, what Apple considers as "harmful content," and whether these checks will also be applied retroactively to previously generated links, as well as any new links created before the 27.3 updates are officially rolled out later this December.
The tech giant has also warned that if users attempt to upload harmful content, it can be removed or deleted at any time.
"Apple may also take action against your Apple Account, including blocking or disabling your Apple Account, blocking the ability to create a new Apple Account with the associated email address or phone number, or if necessary, involving law enforcement," it said.




